Prep athletes honored for spring season accomplishments

Senior outside hitters D.J. White (Mira Costa) and Ryan Olson (Redondo Union) led a group of local high school athletes who were honored for their accomplishments during the spring season.

Mira Costa’s D.J. White earned Bay League MVP and All-CIF first team honors. Photo by Ray Vidal

White was selected as MVP of the Bay League while Olson was named the league’s Most Outstanding Player. Both were selected to the All-CIF Southern Section Division 1 team.

Mira Costa’s Tony Ensbury was voted the Bay League’s Defensive Player of the Year. His Mustang teammates Kameron Bain, Karl Acres, and Weston Carico were named to the first team while Keith Waddell made the second squad.

Sea Hawks joining Olson on the All-Bay League first team were Ryan Mather and Riley Theunissen.

In Division 3, Andy Gage (South Torrance) and Brock Boll (Torrance) were All-CIF as was Danny Geber (Bishop Montgomery) in Division 4.

Division 5 was loaded with local players along with Chadwick coach Michael Cass, who earned Coach of the Year honors. Chadwick players named to the team were James Lanihan, Hank Trumbull and Ryan Hood. Representing Vistamar were Evan Simon, Alex Stephanus and Colin McCall.

Girls Lacrosse

Redondo’s Tom Borgia was named the Bay League Coach of the Year after leading the Sea Hawks to a undefeated league season, a North Division title and appearance in the U.S. Lacrosse Southern Section championship game.

Redondo midfielder Julia Denney capped off her prep career as MVP of the Bay League. Photo by Ray Vidal

Midfielder Julia Denney was named the league’s MVP after she capped off a four-year career that helped put Redondo’s girls lacrosse program on the map.

Sea Hawks named to the All-Bay League first team were midfielders Allison Field and Brittany Ross, attacker Micayla Kotzbach and defender Ava Elsner.

Mira Costa attackers Taylor Pool and Lexi Kurugian, midfielders Carly McGuire and Lia Sepanek also made the first team.

Second team members included Sea Hawks Heather Czech, Ally Berry, Allison Kotzbach and Hayley Newman along with Mustangs Emma Schiewe and Susanna Sleke.

Boys Lacrosse

Mira Costa midfielder Thomas Farrell earned league MVP honors while fellow Mustang Cody Smith was named Defensive Player of the year.

In his first year as head coach of the Mustang, Chris Jewett was named Coach of the Year after leading Mira Costa to the North Division title and a trip to the U.S. Lacrosse Southern Section championship.

Mira Costa’s Thomas Farrell was named Bay League MVP after leading the Mustangs to the U.S. Lacrosse Southern Section North Division title. Photo by Ray Vidal

Mira Costa players named to the All-Bay League first team were attackers Chris O’Brien and Marcus Egeck, midfielders Ryan Kole and Tajee Mobley and defender Travis Meersand.

Midfielder Austin Hafdell was selected to the second squad along with Redondo attackers Dillon Guth and Jeff Brandon and midfielder Taylor Romero.


Mira Costa senior pitcher Sean Isaac and Redondo junior first baseman Dylan Hatch and Sea Hawk senior pitcher Grant Wessel were named to the All-Bay League first team. Isaac and Hatch were also selected to the All-CIF Division 2 second team.

Included on the All-Bay-League second team were Mira Costa infielder/pitcher Turner Conrad and Redondo third baseman/pitcher Travis Fischvogt, catcher Jake Jiminez and pitcher/second baseman Drew Kozain.

Competing in Division 2, West Torrance’s Austin Watters was the only Bay League player to be selected to the All-CIF first team.


Mira Costa catcher Katie Saunders was named the Bay League’s Co-Most Valuable Player and teammate Steffani Lajeunesse was selected as the league’s Most Outstanding Player after the juniors helped lead Mira Costa to the Bay League co-championship and an overall record of 22-7-1.

Saunders – an All-CIF Southern Section Division 3 selection – batted .480 with five home runs, nine doubles, three triples and 36 RBIs. She scored 41 runs for the Mustangs and was successful on all 12 stolen base attempts.

A multi-talented infielder, Lajeunesse batted .525 with 11 homers, eight doubles, seven triples, 41 RBIs and scored 37 runs.

Members of the All-Bay League first team included sophomore outfielder Taylor Glover and junior pitcher Breanna Kelly of Mira Costa and senior pitcher Brett Aspel, senior outfielder Jennifer Stevens and senior shortstop Cindy Zamudio of Redondo.

Mustangs elected to the second team were senior second baseman Kamyle Glover and senior first baseman Chloe Krasnoff. The Sea Hawks were represented by freshman second baseman Katrina Cohen, junior outfielder Juliana Jordan and senior third baseman Linda Park.

Other local players named to the All-CIF Division 3 team were Coco Taualii (North Torrance), Allison Urness (Peninsula) and Alex Kossoff (South Torrance).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spring season begins for preps
Local athletes earn All-CIF honors
Local athletes earn All-CIF honors
CIF, Bay League honors diamond stars
Nunn makes the most of final prep game

Manhattan Beach California Area Articles

Article source:

About Manhattan Beach Insider

Welcome to Manhattan Beach California. Find Manhattan Beach area restaurants, beach hotels, shopping, beach events, lifestyle photos, things to do, nightlife, lifestyle articles and more.
This entry was posted in Manhattan Beach News Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.